Skip to main content

By purchasing tickets to any La Jolla Music Society event, you agree to our COVID-19 Policy. Learn more.

Wynton marsalis
Saturday, February 20, 2021 · 7 PM

Stream: Jazz at Lincoln Center Presents The Democracy! Suite

featuring Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis

Part of

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet’s performance of The Democracy! Suite aims to entertain, inspire, and uplift audiences with the full vigor, vision, and depth of America’s music.

Led by trumpeter/composer Wynton Marsalis and featuring seven of jazz’s finest soloists, the concert’s unique repertoire celebrates jazz’s embodiment of freedom and democracy.

The evening will feature the premiere of The Democracy! Suite, a new Marsalis composition written during the ongoing Covid-19 crisis as a response to the political, social, and economic struggles facing our nation. The Democracy! Suite is a swinging and stimulating instrumental rumination on the issues that have recently dominated our lives as well as the beauty that could emerge from a collective effort to create a better future.

This stream is free to the public. The performance will be available to stream on-demand until February 23, 2021.

Subscribe to 3 or more spring streaming events and gain access to two exclusive zoom chats!

Cocktail chat with Wynton Marsalis
Saturday, February 20 at 5pm

Live moderated conversation with Ashley Wheater MBE, artistic director and Nicolas Blanc, choreographer
Wednesday, March 3 at 2pm

The Democracy! Suite

Be Present

Sloganize, Patronize, Realize, Revolutionize (Black Lives Matter)

Ballot Box Bounce

That Dance We Do (That You Love Too)

Deeper Than Dreams

Out Amongst the People (for J Bat)

It Come ‘Round ‘Gin

That’s When All Will See

Wynton Marsalis
Wynton Marsalis

trumpet, music director

Elliot Mason


Ted Nash

alto saxophone and flute

Walter Blanding

tenor and soprano saxophones

Dan Nimmer


Carlos Henriquez


Obed Calvaire


Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Saxophones

Cha Cha Toda la Noche

Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra

The Jazz Vault: Bold, Naked, and Sensational (From Untamed Elegance)

Philippe Quint

You may also enjoy

  • Revelle Chamber Music Series

Takács Quartet

  • Revelle Chamber Music Series
The Baker-Baum Concert Hall
  • Artist-In-Residence

Les Violons du Roy with Avi Avital

  • Artist-In-Residence
The Baker-Baum Concert Hall
Presented by City Ballet of San Diego


Presented by City Ballet of San Diego
The Baker-Baum Concert Hall
  • Discovery Series

Alexander Malofeev

  • Discovery Series
The Baker-Baum Concert Hall