August 16, 2015 @ 3:00 pm America/Los Angeles Timezone
MCASD Sherwood Auditorium
700 Prospect Street
La Jolla, CA 92037
$65 | $45

Beethoven’s Time Machine

Journey back to Beethoven with Borromeo String Quartet violinist Nicholas Kitchen. Offering insight into Beethoven’s genius by delving into the manuscripts and scores, you’ll be drawn into the composer’s world and his mind to discover how his compositions for string quartet not only left their mark on all subsequent composers but also re-shaped the genre and the identity of what came to be known as classical music.

The Borromeo String Quartet will perform Beethoven’s String Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 130 including the visionary Grosse Fuge, Op. 133 conceived as the original ending for this work. Condemned by critics at the time, the Grosse Fuge is now considered to be one of Beethoven’s greatest achievements.

Buy Tickets

DOHNÁNYIPiano Quintet in C Minor, Op. 1Philip Setzer, violin
Michelle Kim, violin
Lawrence Dutton, viola
Ralph Kirshbaum, cello
John Novacek, piano
BEETHOVENString Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 130
with "Grosse Fuge," Op. 133
Borromeo String Quartet